01
Jan
08

time to reboot

2007

Spent the evening with the newlyweds as well as their 3 dogs + 2 cats. Can we say zoo? We enjoyed our leftover Christmas truffles (made by yours truly) and champagne whilst watching a couple of flicks – namely Superbad and Shrek III. The first was hilarious and the second quite lame, but my brain needed the cleansing inanity of Donkey’s antics after watching the expletive-ridden exploits of McLovin and his pals.

—-

I’ve been off the blogging bandwagon for a bit – after November I needed a break, and the holidays have been more depressing than usual this year. Today (the first) marks 2 years since I broke up with the ex-fiance, and while I can’t say that I regret that happenstance, I do regret that I have spent 2 years of my life without someone special to share it with. Most days I don’t think about it and just go about my business, but the lack of someone to kiss while watching the ball drop or gazing on fireworks as midnight hits is not fun. Not fun at all. I now understand how I allowed myself to talk myself into the mess that was my attempt to date online – the loneliness gets to a certain level and you decide that anything is better, even rejection (or having to reject).

—-

Let’s move onto something less self-pitying shall we? Being slightly tipsy is no excuse at all. Instead of thinking about what I am lacking I would like to review a few of the things that made 2007 less than sucky.

  • I started southerngeekgirl. This is the closest I have come to keeping any sort of journal or other expression of my thoughts with any regularity ever, and even though it has been sporadic I think it has been a good thing.
  • I gained the cutest nephew ever in the entire world, and I adore my brother’s fiance like a little sister. I was so upset when I found out that they were having a baby (he’s 18, she’s 17), and it’s still not the best of situations, but how can you not be happy to see a baby? He is happy and healthy and beautiful and I don’t know if any aunt ever loved her nephew more.
  • I also have a beautiful new niece, but I haven’t gotten to meet her yet since she and her parents currently reside in Japan (if I could afford the ticket I would be there in a flash!). Even though I can’t hold her I’ve been entertaining myself buying and making lovely little girl things – boy clothes aren’t nearly as fun.
  • One of my very best friends in the world found her life partner and is blissfully happy (her online dating experience was much more successful than mine as I have documented here in the past). While I occasionally want to kick her husband (by which I mean I occasionally do kick her husband) he loves her and has been taking good care of her. I still have my eye on him though…
  • I discovered or gained new appreciation for ze frank, Brotherhood 2.o, Neil Gaiman, Phillip Pullman, fancy beer, dogs, my inner sailor (you know, the one who knows all the curse words), Doctor Who, Dexter, Buffy, Stargate Atlantis, Supernatural, George R.R. Martin, William Gibson, Cory Doctorow, Metamor City, Ricky Gervais, Portal, Jonathan Coulton, and knee high black boots.

There were sucky things. Money is tight, work is stressful, family is dramatic and friends are distant. However, if I dwell on the bad (especially after the glass of wine I’ve been enjoying as I type) instead of appreciating the good then I’ll start the new year on a bad note, and I really want 2008 to be the year I become a more confident, kind, intelligent, and scifi-knowledgeable woman. I’ll save the self-pity for pms week.

Cheers!

5 Responses to “time to reboot”


  1. January 1, 2008 at 6:12 am

    PMS week? Is that like a national holiday? Doesn’t sound like one we men would enjoy very much.

    If I can be serious for just a few agonising seconds, I possess a similar sense of lonliness. It has been over a year since I had a special someone in my life, which probably explains why I’ve been so busy blogging this past year: it seems to remove the sharper edges from the often crippling sense of not having anyone to share life with. I only share this with you because sometimes it helps to know there are people in the same boat, or should that be rowing their lonely boats in the same river…?

    Life ain’t the best thing ever – fatal in all cases, don’t you know – but I’m totally confident that 2008 will be a happier year for you in every way. As long as you keep your humour, your love, your wit and – most especially – your love of all things sci-fi, I’ll be right here doing my best to make it that little touch better for you. 🙂

    Happy New Year, SGG. xx

  2. January 1, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    It should be a national holiday – I should get to stay home and watch maudlin movies and eat chocolate while the rest of the world enjoys not being in the path of my raging hormones. Maybe I’ll work on getting a law passed.

    Thanks for the good wishes – I know I’m not the only one in the river, but I wish it were easier to get someone else interested in my boat… which sounds wrong… but you get the idea:) I’m optimistic about 2008 as well, and thanks for being there this year – you’ve been as good of a friend as a stranger an ocean away who doesn’t know my real name can be:)

  3. January 2, 2008 at 2:48 am

    Please don’t mention it….Madeleine? Mary-beth? Peggy-sue? Jiminy-cricket? Rachel? Phoebe? Monica? Angelina? Salma? Britney? Kara? Laura? Boomer? Six? Kaylee? Jayne? Cindy? Barbie? Smurfette? Cheetara? Arcee? Blackarachnia? Buffy? Willow? Anya? Dawn? Rose? Ace? Mel? Tegan? Nyssa? Peripigilliam (Peri)? Posh? Ginger? Sporty?

    …am I close?

  4. January 2, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    Your stalking skills are obviously without equal… though you shall have to be punished for daring to suggest I might share a name with that crazy “actress” Angelina… or any of the freaking Spice Girls. *shudder* And seriously, where do they get off making a comeback? I just got that frakking ‘you gotta get with my friends’ song out of my head from the last time.

  5. 5 Jenn S.
    January 5, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    OOOOO! I like Six. Go with Six.


Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

What I’m Reading


