03
Dec
07

Heroes finale

I think most Heroes fans would agree with me when I say that I have wondered many, many times during this sad little beleaguered season of television what exactly Tim Kring was smoking all summer. The plot and characterization problems have been enormous, causing me to almost want to stop watching. I held out hope for improvement and finally got it in the last couple of episodes, but this series needs a reboot like nobody’s business.

heroes title

This sophomore slump is especially disheartening because the outrageous success of Heroes last season brought the networks around to the idea that science fiction in prime time is not only doable, but when done well is just as good as any drama or procedural out there. I think the mistake they made was in assuming that the first seasons success gave them carte blanche to jerk the fans around and that they would be forgiven. Not so NBC! True science fiction fans are some of the most demanding entertainment consumers to be found on this planet. Their devotion levels are unlimited, their ability to forgive not quite so much. NBC and Kring had better have learned their lesson well if they want to keep me as a fan – I’ve dropped shows before (The X-Files, *sob*) and I’m not afraid to do it again.

Here’s the preview for tonight’s finale. Looks like it will be action filled, usually a recipe for a good episode in this series.

0 Responses to “Heroes finale”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

What I’m Reading


