02
Dec
07

Buffy Season 1

Jumping into a fandom after its heyday has mostly come and gone is not a new thing for me (Firefly, Highlander) but none of them quite measure up to Buffy levels in terms of numbers and internet presence. I’ve given up on trying not to be spoiled, even the most innocent of googling turns up droves of information about the Buffyverse, and since the TWoP recaps for season 1 were actually written during season 4 I can’t even count on them to be spoiler free. Oh well, that there are so many fans out there generally is a good sign, and I can’t wait to start watching season 2. (I would like to point out that if there was much decent current television I wouldn’t feel the need to go back to the 90’s for my entertainment. Thanks, hollywood, for sucking so much.)

buffy

More of my season 1 impressions:

  • The clothes are all beyond awful. Xander’s shirts frighten me, Buffy alternates between middle aged and slut, and I don’t even know what to say about Willow, though I tend to prefer her weirdness to Buffy’s micro-minis.
  • I take back everything I thought about Giles in the first episode (Grant you were completely right), he is awesome and I want one for myself. He can organize my bookcases and make me tea.
  • The episodes were 80% completely predictable, but the ventriloquist dummy one threw me. Loved it.
  • Hated the witch one and the praying mantis one, though Buffy’s spazzing out was entertaining to behold.
  • REALLY hated the whole demon in the internet thing. Dumb, dumb, dumb. It’s only redeeming quality was that it introduced the computer science teacher/supernatural expert character, her arguments with Giles about the merits of technology were quite entertaining.
  • The white dress paired with the leather jacket in the last episode was the kind of overt symbolism that hits you over the head with it’s obviousness, but it seemed fitting. However, what was that fabric that could survive being submerged in a murky pool and rolled around on a cave floor and still look pristine? I need some!
  • The master storyline felt a little anticlimactic. They build it up for 12 episodes, and then Buffy throws him into a glass ceiling (snerk) and he’s dead. Poof. I hope the zoom in on his skeleton (and why does he get a skeleton when the rest turn completely to exploding dust?) means that he will be back later.
  • Angel’s tattoo is pretty. Angel’s shoulders are pretty. Angel’s personality is kind of boring. Xander would win with me any day.
  • Buffy and Veronica Mars have some interesting similarities, what with both of them starring smart-ass little highschool blondes who fight evil and solve crimes. Mac and Willow remind me of each other quite a bit also (highly intelligent geeks with a unique fashion sense). I wouldn’t be very much surprised to learn that Rob Thomas is a Buffy fan.
5 Responses to “Buffy Season 1”


  1. 1 jb
    December 3, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    Lucky you, just starting the wonder that is the Buffyverse. You have made it through the by-far worst of the seasons, and it’s pretty good television. Wouldn’t think of spoiling anything, but there’s a long way up to go. I’ve watched the whole thing 3 or 4 times, and I’ve just started again. Don’t worry, they will soon lose the micro-skirt look; being a guy I don’t mind it, but it’s pretty weird clothes to wear when you need to kick people in the head! Anyway, enjoy the ride.

  2. December 3, 2007 at 4:49 pm

    “Angel’s tattoo is pretty. Angel’s shoulders are pretty. Angel’s personality is kind of boring. Xander would win with me any day.”

    I just laughed so hard I think I burst a blood vessel!

    *More LMFAO*

  3. December 3, 2007 at 6:55 pm

    Thanks jb – I really enjoyed season 1, so I’m quite looking forward to the rest. I’m not sure exactly how I made it this very having never watched it:)

  4. December 3, 2007 at 6:56 pm

    @ Grant: Your comment about being amused has amused me. Once again I am disturbing my cube neighbors with my laughter…

  5. 5 sam
    January 6, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Things to remember about the first season: it was the mid-90’s, so the clothing is going to be awful, and even by the end they were just developing their characters. The 2nd season (which I’m watching right now for the first time since it aired) picks up quickly and they’re really getting into character.

    As the show matures, the acting gets better, the storylines get better, and the budget gets bigger (dramatically lowering the ‘cheese’ factor).


Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I’m Reading


