28
Nov
07

I’ve been tagged! [3-7 of 7]

It took me long enough to get around to finishing this. Focus has not been high on my list of accomplishments recently, and NaBloPoMo is harder than I thought it would be. It’s been good for me though, as ze frank said in one of his latest videos (and how awesome is it that he is making videos again?), feeling uninspired is no excuse for not creating things – the difference between working on something you don’t think is going to be perfect and not working on something at all is the difference between 1 and 0. Something and nothing.

The things:

3. People who have seen my bedroom would laugh at this, but the truth is that I am a perfectionist, which means that ze’s advice notwithstanding, I hate to do something if I don’t think I can do it right. This means that I don’t start a lot of things, like cleaning projects (my room is a mess), writing stories, or trying to sew. I have a couple of web application ideas that have been kicking around in my head for months that I haven’t gotten around to trying to fix. My room was a royal mess until this weekend – mostly because I knew that I had to go through a couple of boxes that I didn’t want to touch: the last remnants of my relationship with the former fiance. I finally bit the bullet though and forced myself to do it. I saved a couple of small gifts and a couple of photos, nothing that wouldn’t fit into a little box I had set aside for that purpose, and I trashed everything else. Gifts, photos, letters, wedding planning stuff, it all went. Yes, I still had wedding stuff. Yes, it’s been 2 years. I know, I am pathetic. Believe me, it caused me no pain to toss it and it would have if I’d done it before, so I’m glad I waited. So, there’s some breakup advice for you. Don’t say I never taught you anything.

4. I bake for brownie points. So far no one has complained:) (Today it was chocolate banana bread, a recipe of my own devising. Tasty!)

5.  Google reader rules my life. I have subscribed to so many feeds I will never ever be able to catch up, I’ve had to create a special category for stuff I consider a must read and I get to the other stuff eventually. I subscribe to news(regular and technology + local, national and world), entertainment, gossip blogs, personal blogs, lots and lots of scifi and book blogs, and even some software development blogs. Right now I have at least 2,000 unread items in my reader. Is there a 12 step rss program?

6. I can’t keep my dog off of the couch. She gets in trouble every time I catch her, and yet still the next time I go into the living room, there she is again, snoozing away. What does this mean? Does she wish I had carpet? Is the bed I gave her not good enough? Should I get her her own couch? Rig that one with an ejector seat so it flings her across the room if she gets on it? These are the questions that occupy me.

7. Finally, number 7. The last random thing about me is that last night I fell asleep fully clothed with the light on at 10pm and didn’t wake up until 3am, at which point I decided changing was a lost cause and just switched off the light and went back to bed. This can be interpreted a couple of ways: either I need a boyfriend (or better roommate) who will nudge me awake so I can actually get ready for bed like a normal human being, or I need to take more naps during the day. Perhaps both.

There you go Pheobe, I finished it, and before the month was even out. I should get a prize for that.

2 Responses to “I’ve been tagged! [3-7 of 7]”


  1. November 29, 2007 at 2:15 am

    It’s hard to come up with 7 things. I am making glycerin soap as a NaBloPoMo prize. If you want a bar, I’m happy to send it to you.

    Blogging every day, huh? UGH.

    I’m tired. I seem to be out of idea.

    BTW – I’m so glad I’m reading your blog because you are way ahead of me on everything…including that Ze is doing videos again. That ROCKS.

    Give into the power of the doggeh.

    Are you on The Org?

    Thanks for the bday wishes.

  2. November 30, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    Oooh, that would be awesome, I love pretty soaps.

    I was on the org for a while but I hadn’t logged on for a really long time – it was kind of depressing when ze retired. I’ve kind of moved on to brotherhood 2.0 these days.


Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

What I’m Reading


