26
Nov
07

that hot guy is probably a vampire

This is going to be short and sweet because it is late and I am feeling less than 100%. We’ve had a big weather change in the last couple of days and it triggered a sore throat, a cough, and general malaise. It would be lovely to use it as an excuse to stay home from work, but since I have a huge project I am working on I’ll be a good girl. Sigh.

Big news folks! I’ve finally started watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer. For some reason it never quite made it onto my list of things to watch before the last year or so – I watched the movie back when it came out, and when I heard there was a show to match it never piqued my interest. Stupid past me didn’t know about Joss Whedon and his high awesomeness ranking, a lesson present me has learned well. Various sources have recommended Seasons 2 and 3 as the better ones, but since I have a serious compulsion about consuming books and movies in their proper order I am starting with season 1 and going on from there.

buffy season 1

I watched the premier 2 parter tonight. Major impressions:

– The cute ones are all undead.

– How adorable is baby Alyson Hannigan?

– I don’t quite buy little Sarah Michelle as an ass-kicking slayer, but I’m sure the fight quality will improve over time.

– Darla the vampire is totally Rita from Dexter! It’s kind of nice to see her in such a proactive role.

– British library guy is a little hands on and anti-personal space, no?

– Doesn’t she have a sister? Does she just appear later? Or is she a step? Wait don’t tell me I don’t want to be spoiled!

– The dialogue style so reminds me of Firefly/Serenity. Join me in praying to the tv gods that more ‘verse stuff will be made in the future. The Fillion must be rescued from frakking Desperate Housewives! I don’t mind Jewel Staite on Stargate:Atlantis because I actually enjoy that show, but I miss the other Firefly vets. They must be reunited!

5 Responses to “that hot guy is probably a vampire”


  1. November 28, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    I hear ya, babe. The Firefly will burn forever in our hearts. Amen.

    Oh, and enjoy Buffy! I have them all on shelf-eating VHS, and love every season. British Library guy kicks ASS. How adorable is grown-up Alysson Hannigan!?!

    “and one time, at band camp…”

    Tee hee.

  2. November 28, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    Grown up AH is just as cute. I love watching her on How I Met Your Mother, she steals every scene.

    British library guy is growing on me, I’ve watched a couple more episodes and the creepy factor has dropped considerably.

  3. November 29, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    Soon you’ll want to cuddle him to your chest at every opportunity. Brace yourself.

  4. November 30, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    Ok I’ve warmed up, library guy is all kinds of awesome, and you should have heard the squeak of pure joy I emitted when xander called him locutus of borg in the last episode. Now I need season 2…

  5. 5 Christen
    December 19, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    The guy who made Buffy – made Firefly. That’s why it sounds so alike. Buffy came first though. I’m a huge die hard fan of the show. Since it first aired.


Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

What I’m Reading


