24
Nov
07

I’ve been tagged! [2 of 7]

Fellow Highlander fan and NaBloPoMo-er Pheobe tagged me more or less at random for the 7 random/weird things meme. I think I’ve done this before, but since you love me you’ll like it the second time too:)

I’m not going to tag anyone, but if you pick it up from me please let me know in the comments! Reading weird things about other people is always fun.

Here are the rules:
a. Link to the person that tagged you and post the rules on your blog.
b. Share 7 random and or weird things about yourself.
c. Tag 7 random people participating in nablopomo at the end of your post and include links to their blogs.
d. Let each person know that they have been tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

The things:
1. I tend to get really bored while driving and let my mind wander… this has resulted in me going the wrong direction accidentally, running stop signs, and turning the wrong way on one-way streets. I’ve found two remedies for this condition: 1. Show tunes! Musicals have the best songs for singing along with(duh). Right now in my car I have CD’s for My Fair Lady, Wicked(my current fave), The Phantom of the Opera, Moulin Rouge(yes it counts), and The Lion King(shut up, it counts!). 2. The cell phone. This isn’t really a remedy though, I get just as distracted while on the phone, just for different reasons. Books on CD also work, but I only resort to those on long trips when I know I’ll get through the whole story.

2. This is probably going to ruin any level of coolness or even geek-cred I might have earned, but it must be done. There is a guilty secret in my life that only my closest friends are aware of. Prepare yourself…. ok, here we go… I read romance novels and “chick lit”. Romance novels are like any other drug that provides an endorphin rush – you know they are bad for you and distort your sense of reality, but that doesn’t keep you from wanting more, looking for that next fix. The best ones actually resemble something that might actually happen in the real world, but I read them all. Crack, I tell you!

    As for the second category, I find “Chick lit” to be kind of an insulting term – when did books that tend to focus on relationships become the realm of women only? I challenge you to name a well loved book that doesn’t focus at least in part on how people relate to each other. Put a cover without shoes or that isn’t pink on a lot of these books (the good ones) and they would be indistinguishable from any other novel out there. As for the others of lesser quality or which tend to fall into the stereotype a little more, why it is ok for women to read books that focus on men (I’m looking at you Tom Clancy), but books that focus on women are considered inferior in some way? That is just as annoying as when people write off science fiction completely as a genre without realizing that just as with anything else there are many levels of quality, and the best stand as some of the greatest works of literature.

    —-

    Ok I’m sorry but I’ve been cleaning all morning and I think some bleach fumes have gotten into my brain, so I’ll give you the rest of the 7 later.

    Tonight is Razor yay!

    Update on the dog situation: they are getting along fine today, and my bite mark has faded. Mini (the one I’m sitting) goes home tomorrow. She didn’t mean to bite me, my arm kind of got in the way when I was trying to separate the combatants, so I’m not going to tell her parents (the former roommate and her new husband). She’s been a total sweetheart today, didn’t even try to knock the trashcan over.

    3 Responses to “I’ve been tagged! [2 of 7]”


    1. November 25, 2007 at 9:18 pm

      I like what you are saying about the bad rep science fiction gets. I had gotten a wrong impression of it and didn’t start reading it until I was in my late 20’s. If I had known, I would have read more as a kid, I know it.

      But I have to say. You are really brave to admit to reading romance novels.

      🙂

      My mom and my sister have read them all! – I like your point about Chick Lit, too. I had never heard the term. It sounds a little naughty!

    2. November 26, 2007 at 7:17 am

      I knew reading romance novels would knock me down a few points in a lot of eyes – I only read one every now and then, but I do enjoy them in the same way I like watching bad tv once in a while…

      As for science fiction, I started by watching Star Trek as a kid and reading Madeleine L’Engle books, and never looked back. Science fiction authors are some of the sharpest people out there.


    Leave a Reply

        RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    Twitter Updates

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

    What I’m Reading


