10
Nov
07

baked squash and battlestar

This weekend has been nice so far – I have a friend spending the weekend with me so that we can work on some Christmas gifts, and we just finished saying goodbye to a large group of friends who came over for dinner. I served pomegranate with the cheese, crackers, etc. before dinner and almost no one had had it before which is pretty entertaining – it’s like nothing else, no? We had homemade elderflower wine (stronger than you would expect), pasta with sauteed veggies and marinara, french bread, baked acorn squash, salad with ginger pear dressing, and delicious homemade cookies and pumpkin curry cupcakes (delish!) for dessert.

The food was all very good, but the best part of the evening was finding some new people to watch Battlestar with! I used to watch it with the roommate but now that she’s a newlywed she’s busy doing her own thing (plus neither of us have cable so I would have to download it and then force myself to wait and watch it with her…). Anyway, these people are kind of second-hand friends – I tend to only hang out with them when our mutual acquaintance is in town – but I think our mutual love of Scifi will help build a stronger bond. I’ve been having a bit of a hard time finding people to hang out with lately since all my best friends are either newlyweds or hours away, so I’d like to make more friends. It does take me a long time to feel really comfortable with people which I hate but can do nothing about, but I’m willing to keep trying!

Happy Caturday everyone:)

4 Responses to “baked squash and battlestar”


  1. November 11, 2007 at 6:38 am

    LOL. LOVE the video: reminds me so much of when I used to wake up with a cats bum resting on my face. No, no joke, she would actually curl up on my head. How I managed to breathe, I don’t know (and am deeply unwilling to speculate).

    I feel your pain re: not being able to share Sci-fi. A year or two ago I had a perfectly good geek crew to share all this stuff with but then one ran off to Paris to shack up with a french tutor, and another two buggered off down to Wales chasing careers as Doctors. I’m pretty much left alone these days as all my remaining friends are very busy people. It’s tough finding people to share the different parts of me with these days. Sigh.

    Anyoo, Im glad you had such a good weekend. That food list has me drooling!

  2. November 12, 2007 at 12:33 am

    I had a cat that would do that once too – and on that would like to do the kneading thing on my neck, claws and all. Always nice to wake up to.

    Running off to Paris sounds like fun… more romantic than Wales anyway:)

    I hope you had a good weekend too!

  3. November 12, 2007 at 1:04 am

    Cats: Pure distllied evil. 🙂


Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I’m Reading


