15
Sep
07

a lazy kind of day

This has been one of those nice relaxed weekend days that I enjoy so much and don’t often get to enjoy. The Southern humidity has finally given way to fall and we’ve been able to turn off the a/c and leave the windows open – admitting the breeze, the neighborhood dogs barking, the sound of the kids from the apartment complex behind the house, and the bell from the church down the street. I feel a little more connected to the world around me, and it is a lot easier to spy on the neighbors Disturbia/Rear Window style.

I have accomplished the following things so far today:

  • Attempted to teach my dog to lie down on command. So far she thinks I am just confused and really must want her to sit, so as soon as I position her the way I want her and let go she pops right back up into sitting position and looks at me expecting a treat. Clearly I need some sort of professional help with this.
  • Finished reading The Eyre Affair. One of the central premises of the book is that it is possible for people to enter works of literature and for the characters to enter this world, which is quite fascinating to me as a bibliophile. Can you imagine popping into Pride and Prejudice to have tea with the Bennet sisters, or how about visiting an L’Engle novel and hanging out with the Murrays? Of course these sorts of ideas are how most fan fiction gets written. If you could step into the world of any book which would it be? Middle Earth? Narnia? Or some faraway planet in the distant future where the problems of today no longer exist? Recently I read the Angel novels by Sharon Shinn and I fell in love with her descriptions of the people and the cultures – on the planet the books are set in the seperate tribes or nations or whatever have to come together once a year to sing together in a giant event they call the Gloria to prove that they are living in harmony if they want to avoid punishment from above. In their world musical and singing abilities are almost revered – musicians hold places of high honor (real honor, not hollow celebrity). How cool would it be to visit a place like that?
  • Baked a giant batch of chocolate chip cookies. Yum!
  • Watched Disturbia, Secretary, and part of season 1 of How I Met Your Mother. When I heard that Shia Labeouf was likely to play Yorick in the move adaptation of Y the Last Man I wasn’t all that thrilled since I had only seen him in Transformers and that movie did not impress me. However, after seeing Disturbia I feel slightly resigned to it. He does have a certain goofy charm that would suit Yorick’s character. I would also like to take this moment to remind myself to stop watching scary/suspenseful movies while home alone in the dark.
  • Hmm, what else? I do believe that was all. After the week I’ve had at work I deserved a day of doing not much.
3 Responses to “a lazy kind of day”


  1. September 16, 2007 at 1:11 am

    That sounds fantastic! Good for you! I need to relax too, maybe later on today 😉

  2. 2 hopnorth
    November 1, 2007 at 11:36 am

    Bless you geek girl! Just found your site….talking about the highlander and solving my burning question: over the weekend some one recommended a book and I couldn’t remember the title just it was about by some author with last name starting with Ff. You rock!

  3. November 1, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    Aw thanks:) And that book was really good, I have the rest of the series on my wishlist at paperback swap but no-one has posted them yet, so I may just have to bite the bullet and actually go to the bookstore. What a tragedy.


Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I’m Reading


