12
Sep
07

adding to the stack

I found a few more in the living room…

a few more

I’m not actually reading the guidebook – it’s more of a flip through when I feel like it kind of thing – so I suppose it doesn’t count. Good Omens and Choke are both books that need to be taken in small doses – the former because the silliness and cleverness on every page become quite overwhelming after a while, and the latter because even though I appreciate the genius of Chuck Palahniuk my level of tolerance for raw gritty narrative is not very high, and I have to take breaks regularly if I am not to become utterly depressed. Good Omens and The Eyre Affair were both recommended to me by the same friend who sent Supernatural and Firefly my way, so despite her worrisome love of slash fanfic I trust her judgement.

Yes, I’m adding to the stack already – at this rate I’ll have plenty of excuses to never leave the house again. Bring on the cats!

5 Responses to “adding to the stack”


  1. 1 GrantTLC
    September 13, 2007 at 11:24 am

    Scotland? *raises wry scottish eyebrow*

  2. September 13, 2007 at 4:30 pm

    Well I can’t very well stalk you from all the way over here now can I?

    Actually I’ve been playing with the idea of taking a trip abroad for a while, and I have my destination narrowed down to either Scotland or Japan. When this trip will take place will depend entirely on my ability to save an appropriate amount money, so don’t hold your breath… but while we are on the subject, what would be on your list of Scotland’s absolute must-see things?

  3. 3 GrantTLC
    September 14, 2007 at 1:22 am

    Holy poop, how long do you have?

    Er…Edinburgh is a good place to start. See the Castle, investigate the old bits and the history therein (you’ll need a week to do it justice). Rosyln chapel, despite the silly book-and-film nonsense, is still an amazing visit. Then get around a bit, away from the cities. The wild expanse of Glencoe will haunt you like nowhere else on Earth. Go up the side of Loch Ness, but please don’t waste any time looking for the silly monster, just enjoy the beautiful scenery. Then if at all possible, go up the northwest coast – it can be stunningly beautfiul in places. Inverness – the Culloden battlefield…(although if you’re not a history buff that’s really just a field with a visitor centre)

    I’m not really a history buff so much of Scotland never even blips my radar – I prefer the natural elements. Landscapes, forest walks, etc. But whatever type of holiday you want, I’m sure we can accomodate you. Just be prepared for the UK’s ridiculous prices (made worse by your particularly weak dollar), which I guarantee you will be bumped up in many places at the first sniff of an American accent. Oh, and we get RAPED by our gas prices – many of your countrymen would have heart attacks if they only knew…

  4. September 15, 2007 at 9:08 am

    Thanks – I love landscapes as well, I had the good fortune to be able to take a trip to greece a couple of years ago, and while the historical sites were all very interesting the beautiful scenery was what left a lasting impression on me. This trip was also when I made my only two visits to the UK, consisting of a stop in Heathrow on the way there and another on the way back. My main memory of that so very extensive visit was that even though I knew that the traffic direction was reversed, I wasn’t prepared for constantly expecting the little bus thing that moved us between terminals to be flattened by oncoming vehicles. If I ever had any intention of trying to drive like that (and I did, because I’m an idiot) it went far far away.

    I read a bit about Roslyn chapel after the book, it does sound absolutely fascinating! My problem is that I always want to see and do everything, and I end up so exhausted by the time I get home that I need another week or so just to recover.

  5. 5 GrantTLC
    September 16, 2007 at 2:03 am

    Lol, that ‘s the problem with holidays. You want them to be different from the daily grind but that usually takes energy that you just don’t have! It’s why I’m rooting for the four-day working week. 🙂


Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

What I’m Reading


