11
Sep
07

big stack of books

I have absolutely nothing to say about today’s anniversary that would not sound utterly trite, so I will not attempt. Your regularly scheduled (snerk) post will now commence.

Ostensibly this blog was to be used to describe my forays into the dating realm, but as you might have guessed lately those have been utterly nonexistent. I had been trying eHarmony for a while, but the one or two times I got to the point in their 8 billion step process where you answer questions chosen by your potential date in 1,000 words or less I would stare at the little text area and go completely blank. Should I be flip? Completely serious? Try and play up my playful side and be a complete flirt or try to convey my maturity and intelligence? Is it possible to combine all of the above into a perfectly crafted essay that will cause the gentleman in question to wish to pursue the relationship further, and if so, do I really want to pursue it myself?

All of this is completely ridiculous because my vast knowledge of men tells me that he decided whether or not he wanted to go out with me within 5 seconds of viewing my picture, and he will probably only skim my answers looking for obvious red flags (prude, bitch, complete moron, etc.) Nevertheless I have allowed myself to talk said self out of meeting 2 or 3 perfectly nice seeming guys because of my own insecurities, and have instead focused on the happenings in the lives of my friends and family, my job, and catching up on my reading. I may be an elderly spinster living alone with my 20 cats one of these days, but at least I’ll be a well read one.

This is a photo of the books I have been working my way through lately. I have a bad habit of reading something partially, leaving it, and coming back off and on over time (mostly this depends on where I am located when the urge to read strikes me). My favorite books are the ones that have captured my imagination and not allowed me to put them down until I have finished them.

Books

The Margaret Atwood and Elliot Perlman novels may never be finished as I have been working on them for a year and 6 months respectively. The 2 Richard Scarry books are for my nephew, I plan to have him reading in a few days, and the E. Nesbit books will be waiting for him when he is a little older, but I will enjoy them for him meanwhile. I am actually reading The Once and Future King at the moment – so far it is quite similar to the Disney movie the Sword and the Stone, and if I weren’t too lazy right now to spend 5 minutes googling I would look up which came first, though I’m sure it is the book.

The best books I have read recently are the His Dark Materials books by Phillip Pullman, and since the Golden Compass movie is being released this holiday season what better time to read them yourself? Now that I’ve seen Stardust that is the movie I am most excited about this year.

You know, if I keep adding to that pile I could put off the whole dating thing for quite a while.

3 Responses to “big stack of books”


  1. 1 GrantTLC
    September 13, 2007 at 11:23 am

    Good girl, proud o’ ya! 🙂 Dating is far too stressful an activity, and I’m not sure it’s worth the effort expended! Trust in Fate, Kismet, God, pure blind chance…or whichever engine you see propelling the universe along, and let yourself relax in the meantime. Books are an excellent place to start and it does my soul good to see Readers still active in this tech-dominated day and age.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the Phillip Pulman’s, by the way. Hope the movie ‘gets’ the source material…

  2. September 13, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    Relaxing sounds wonderful to me.

    Something I read somewhere about the movie said that they were really toning down the religious elements of it a lot – not sure how I feel about that, but I suppose they feel they must water it down to make it more appealing to the masses.

  3. 3 GrantTLC
    September 14, 2007 at 1:10 am

    :O It’s ALL about the religious elements…! I’m tempted to be very rude about the overly-religious masses in your country, but will instead hold my tongue and fume in bitter silence…

    Is nothing sacrosanct?


Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

What I’m Reading


