10
Sep
07

my nephew is superman (shhh don’t tell!)

My place of cubicle serfdom has decided to become even more like the movie Office Space than it already was, and has begun to arbitrarily block any and all social networking sites, which includes sites like blogspot and (gasp!) wordpress, not to mention such time wasting places of enjoyment like myspace, flickr, pandora, meebo and (sob) facebook. In a pinch I can still access facebook via cellphone, but as I am not one of the iPhone owners (or any other smartphone variety), it is more trouble than it is worth. It seems that I shall actually have to work while at work.

Had you going for a second there didn’t I? Actually, since they left me my beloved google reader I can catch up on my rss feeds all day long if I have a mind to since I tend to subscribe to anything that catches my eye – and then there are e-books, podcasts, and the 3 seasons of Doctor Who plus Torchwood and Battlestar Galactica that reside on my iPod. It’s almost tempting to emulate Office Space and see just how much not working it would take for me to get fired, but as I plan to build my resume not massacre it I suppose I won’t try that just yet. Perhaps when I strike it rich.

So, much has transpired since I last graced these digital halls with my lovely presence. I am now the proud aunt of one beatiful blue-eyed dark haired baby boy, and couldn’t be more delighted (well, perhaps I could if my brother weren’t only 18 and the mother 17, but what’s done is done and babies are awesome). The geeks out there in the interwebs will be delighted to learn that while they named the baby after his father, he will in fact go by the nickname Kal-El. No, I’m not joking. Really, I’m not. I have garnered permission to shorten this to Kal (pronounced like Cal, short for Calvin, as in Calvin and Hobbes, truly the greatest Sunday comic of all time). I supposed I shouldn’t be surprised that the brother of a woman who self-identifies as a geek would want to name his child after a comic book character, should I?

In other news, the (former) roommate got married, the wedding was very nice, and they are now cozily ensconced in an apartment about 15 minutes from me, which made it handy for me when I went to feed their insane cats while they were honeymooning in Tennessee. I hosted lots of friends at my house who came into town for the wedding which was extremely fun, it made me wish I lived closer to more them. My friend from San Diego who I’ve known since childhood and who can always be trusted to know what the next awesome thing is (she named her cat Inara before I even knew Firefly wasn’t just an insect) brought me season 1 of Supernatural to watch… and let me just say, I owe her big. It’s not as astoundingly good as the aforementioned Whedon work of genius, but it is clever in its own way, and the eye candy ratchets my rating up quite a few points. I’ve now made it through season 2 and am waiting impatiently for the premiere on Oct 4th.

This post is getting somewhat long, so I will leave you with some random shots I took today with the new camera that I had no business buying since I am beyond broke. Stupid credit cards.

bracelet

The fun bracelet that I wore in the wedding. It matched the cinnamon and yellow dress very well.

jeans

My denim clad thigh. I was playing with the macro setting.

living room

The living room by way of the kitchen door. I still can’t decide how I feel about that color of yellow (it was there when we moved in), but I love my el cheapo ikea coffee table and my red couch.

scarf

Playing with the macro again. This is a lovely scarf that was handmade for me by a good friend, and if it ever gets cold again I will wear it!

Until next time, drink lots of coffee and get some fresh air. Fall has arrived and it wants you to enjoy it.

2 Responses to “my nephew is superman (shhh don’t tell!)”


  1. September 11, 2007 at 7:57 am

    I recognize that scarf! šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

What I’m Reading


