31
Jul
07

I know I’ve watched too much highlander when…

(In case anyone had any doubts about the level of geekiness that is my life.)

Adrian Paul

1. Any reference to the bands Queen or Queens of the Stone Age gets my brain singing – “Here we are, born to be kings…”

2. Twice in the last month I have had naughty dreams about Adrian Paul. The man is seriously pretty. These people agree, and have made the cheesiest photo homage ever to prove it… they have watched too much highlander also.

3. When the actors do a decent job letting their internal dialogue show on their faces I catch myself making mental notes to see if there is any good fanfic for that episode.

4. I forced myself to sit through the entire excruciating and unintentionally hilarious pile of crap that is the early release of Highlander: The Source. (Watch at your own risk, self-mutilation may ensue.) Supposedly the final cut will be better, but I’m not sure there is all that much to work with.

5. Irregardless of the fact that the show only has a few scenes shot in actual Scotland and usually the accents sound pretty lame, I still want to go and see the country for myself. Though, to be fair, the Outlander novels and my general love of Sean Connery’s accent have had their share of influence over that desire.

6. Highlander in 30 seconds, re-enacted by bunnies. I go back every month or so to watch this again. Made of awesome.

7. Mention of only one anything at all makes me snicker like a fool.

8. I have a blue plaid skirt that I wore as part of a costume – I caught myself eyeing it the other day and mentally comparing it to the blue tartan that supposedly belongs to the McLeod’s.

I have a love/hate relationship with this franchise, it has an interesting mythology and it shows signs of brilliance to go along with the sub par special effects and general cheesiness. The inconsistencies are frustrating, but I have to forgive some of them because if they had stopped with the original Highlander movie then the series would never have been possible, and Adrian Paul’s McLeod was a compelling character who was very fun to watch. I would love to see it picked up by a director who is able to bring the emotional weight to bear that was evident in some of the episodes… but in the meantime I’ll watch re-runs and enjoy.

5 Responses to “I know I’ve watched too much highlander when…”


  1. 1 GrantTLC
    July 31, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    Yes, it’s true, I am stalking you from half a world away. I had a thought one lonely morning while sipping green tea through a straw…are Stalkers ALL weird loners who prey on women to fulfill their sick impotent, fantasies? Or can there ever be such a thing as a ‘nice’ stalker? One who’s charming, intelligent, socially comfortable, and who DOESN’T own night-vision goggles?

    Well, three out of four ain’t bad. 🙂 Yes, SGG, you are mine, ALL mine and I shall never look at another as long as I live. Because as you know….

    (tee hee)

    THERE CAN BE ONLY ONE!

    All joking aside (yes, that was me joking – please don’t call the cops) I loved Highlander, the original film. I still have it on VHS somewhere and it’s the only film I have any time for. Two was rubibish and three, well, can you say “pointless re-tread”?

    As for the series, I never really got into it although I watched a fair chunk of the first two seasons back when it started. Adrian Paul was alright but nothing that interested me much (ohmygod – the girls who run that fansite are MENTAL!). And the inconsistencies bugged me, too.

    (Feeling better today. Thanks for your kind words last post.)

  2. August 1, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    So… why do the nice, intelligent charming stalkers stalk then?

    If you ever make it to my neck of the woods feel free to bust out the night vision goggles, but be warned – I have a dog and I keep my blinds closed;)

    (You should know that my coworkers think I am nuts because I laughed quite loudly at your comment when I read it.)

    In my opinion the series didn’t get good until the 3rd season, and it really did well in 4-5. Season six probably shouldn’t have been made at all, it seemed like they were just going through the motions at that point. Have you seen The Raven? It’s in my Netflix queue but I haven’t quite found time to watch it yet.

  3. 3 GrantTLC
    August 2, 2007 at 1:24 am

    Simple: WOMEN DON’T FALL FOR NICE GUYS. They naturally flock toward complete jerks, leaving we remaining guardians of decency and respectability to shake our heads with collective incredulously and start the journey toward our final tragic destination as twisted, lonely old men. Twisted, lonely old men with Night-vision goggles.

    i thought the Raven was stretching the already beleagured concept too far, and ignored it completely.

  4. August 2, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    I would disagree with you, but my own dating history tends to back you up. The thing is, jerks have a way of fooling you for a while, so it’s not completely our fault.

    One of my friends is going to let her parents arrange her marriage for her. I’m tempted to wonder if I would have better luck that way – it’s kind of a terrifying thought … in fact way too terrifying. I’ll just resign myself to becoming a crazy old cat lady.

  5. 5 GrantTLC
    August 4, 2007 at 12:29 am

    Believe it or not, most of my friends are female so this is a tale I’ve heard – and seen – many times. But then i suppose it’s exactly the same for women watching guys they care about date floozy after strumpet after gold-digging psycho…to use an expression I’m fond of: I’ve ploughed some muddy fields in my time!

    Cats are a perfectly sane choice in a topsy-turvy world. Think of the fun you can have dressing them up. 🙂

    Meanwhile, my fall-back position if relationships don’t work out (Mrs Right is taking her sweet time!) is to become one of those dirty old men that can’t stop groping the young care-home nurses who look after him. Gives me something to look forward to in my twlight years, y’know?


Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I’m Reading


