27
Jul
07

The Moirae need to get a new hobby

Yes, I know, I’ve been gone a while – I’ve come to terms with the fact that consistency is not my thing, but I know you love me anyway.

Yesterday was absolutely the day from hades. I am not a superstitious person, but I am starting to believe that I should knock on wood anytime I make any sort of positive statements, because fate is a saucy bitch and she will get you, laughing all the way.

  • First thing in the morning when I got to work my coworker “Dave” and I congratulated each other, we had manage to complete a project without causing any unforeseen issues, a fact which caused us both some surprise since we generally manage to screw up at least a small portion of our projects (as most people do, but I am not most people and I am something of a perfectionist when it comes to these things). This self-congratulation is what caused fate to listen in, snicker uncontrollably, and send her little demons to pester me into admitting defeat.
  • An hour after our conversation, the problem reports started coming in… turned out that yours truly had made a stupid mistake and it was causing some interesting issues… including highlighting some that had already been present but no one had noticed until now, all of which had to be fixed yesterday if not before. Cue stress induced quality work of the type not present in SGG’s life since college finals week when 4 papers, 5 tests and 2 projects all had to be finished in the span of a few days. Oh, the memories.
  • While on the phone trying to coordinate damage control, I heard a loud THUD as something fell into my cubicle right behind my chair, hitting the floor. After a loudly vocalized “Holy Crap!!” (I know, I need some better expressions that don’t make me sound 12) I discovered that the maintenance man who was changing light bulbs had dropped a (rather sturdy) ceiling tile, missing me by about a foot. I was already high on adrenaline from the work situation, and let me just tell you, this did not help one little bit.
  • My mother and I met at a local pizza/beer joint near her job to have lunch. She and I share something of an aversion to pork – I can’t eat it in any fried form without adverse consequences, and she doesn’t eat it at all. So when her spinach calzone turned out to be Canadian bacon instead, she sent it back with the understanding that a corrected version would be out shortly. Sure enough, in about 10 minutes the waiter cheerfully arrived, bearing a sausage calzone this time. My dear mother proceeded to bite his head off, causing him to look terrified and me to want to sink into the floor due to avoid the attention that her outburst afforded us. She ended up eating half of my lunch and getting her money back since we didn’t have time to wait on yet another order to be cooked. Incidents like that remind me how happy I am that I no longer work as a waitress. My job has its bad moments, but I don’t have random hungry women biting my head off for screwing up their lunch order.
  • Finally at the end of the day, I came home, walked my dog, and relaxed. I was completely exhausted, which led to the final crappy incident. After siting on my bed checking e-mail, Facebook and my blog feeds one last time before I went to sleep, I carefully laid my laptop on my nightstand, stood up, and proceeded to walk right through the power cord, pulling the computer off of the table and down onto the hardwood floor. It made a thud that quite rivaled the ceiling tile from earlier. Needless to say it is quite broken, no signs of life at all. Thankfully I paid extra for the super duper ‘you can do anything to this computer and we’ll happily repair it’ plan, so come Monday it will be winging its way to the Dell repair folks, free of charge. I spent a good 30 minutes on the phone earlier with a nice young man who talked me through some obvious diagnostic techniques (“Take out the battery. Does it work now? Ok, try a different wall socket. Does it work now? Hold down the power button and sing the national anthem while crossing your eyes. Anything? Well, I guess you’re right, it’s broken.”), it was the highlight of my Friday night.

Thankfully my Friday has been much more low key than my Thursday – the lack of a windows PC has forced me to focus on getting Bittorrent working on my Linux machine, which has been my plan for a while – I want to keep my media on that computer and use it as a server to my other machines and to my friends. Also, I finally heard back from the person who is going to be my new roommate after the current one moves out to get married – I met him through Facebook which is a little scary, but he knows people who know people I know (confused?), and we went to the same college, so it’s not like he’s a total stranger. Should be interesting!

2 Responses to “The Moirae need to get a new hobby”


  1. 1 GrantTLC
    July 28, 2007 at 2:58 am

    The Moirae need a good kick in their bony asses!

    Sorry to hear about your day of hell. If it makes you feel any better, you may take a small measure of solace knowing that those skinny fate-weaving tramps are playng with more poor souls than just you. My work situation has also recenty nose-dived into a giant realm of SUCK, frustrating and annoying me in equal measure.

    For my part, it’s nice to hear another human is involving him/herself with Linux. Ubuntu, is it? I had a look at that last year, and might have another look when the new release comes out in Oct. But at the moment I’m playing with a Distro called Sabayon – it’s pretty funky but, like Linux generally, seems to discriminate against my ATI gfx card. Sigh. I’m planning to jump ship with a cheap nVidia jobby: here, too, I’ve had enough.

    I joined Facebok this week. Not sure if I’ll stay: I’m not convinced it’s worth much to me. Do you find it valuable?

    PS: If you haven’t seen it yet, Human Nature is AMAZING. The episode following it is astounding, too. 🙂

  2. July 28, 2007 at 9:07 am

    I’m sorry to hear about your work stuff – I know it’s not just me, but there are those days when it seems the world has all of it’s guns pointed directly at you and you should just go home and hide under the covers (watching out for expensive electronics) and hide until it’s over.

    I was introduced to Linux in college, but only recently have I had a spare pc to experiment with – I am using Ubuntu since I’ve heard so many good things about it – so far so good, but I also have had some issues with the graphics card, it works but it won’t let me use the screen resolution I want, and sometimes the display goes blank for no reason at all (not sure if that is the card’s fault or the O/S’s though).

    I joined facebook my last year of graduate school and a lot of my fellow students were on it. Since then I’ve friended a lot of family members I don’t talk to all that much and a lot of people I knew as a kid that I hadn’t talked to in years. It’s interesting to keep up with their lives even if we really don’t have much in common anymore. I think of it as running into that one really gossipy woman that can keep you up to date on everyone, except it comes with photos. Plus, I used the marketplace feature to advertise for a roommate and I actually got some decent results, which is more than I can say for my craigslist and word of mouth efforts.

    Finally, yes I’ve seen all of series 3 (a couple of times for most eps). Those 2 eps may be my favorite ever, but I also really enjoyed Blink and Utopia.

    And now this comment is as long as my blog post! 🙂


Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I’m Reading


