16
Mar
07

not boyfriend, boy friend

Lately I’ve been contemplating what exactly it is that makes people friends. For example: One of my best buddies of late is a guy who I work with that started working at my company at about the same time I did, so we’ve kind of been friendly since then. Other than our job we have little in common. He loves sports, talking about ‘hot’ women, running, obnoxious comedy movies, sports bars, and crime dramas (csi). He hates trying new food, his favorite dessert is vanilla ice cream, and he makes fun of me for talking about movies and the internet… and yet every time we hang out I have a blast. Why is this? I don’t get it.

It is also understood that our relationship is strictly platonic. I have had male friends before that were supposedly platonic but one or the other of us was not exactly upholding our end of the deal, which always made for interesting times. I am attracted to him, and I assume he is to me (I physically resemble his ex-fiance), but the thought of actually dating him really doesn’t compute. At all. If nothing else I think of him as a brother and treat him accordingly (which basically means be mean to him as often as possible).  What gives? Can you truly be friends with someone merely because you find then amusing, and will it last? Or will it eventually pall and you want to ditch them because they won’t talk about the latest Battlestar Galactica (I miss Starbuck already, *sniff, sniff*) with you and insist on going to annoying sports bars to watch the latest game?

Oh well, I’m sure he’ll find a girlfriend soon and I won’t have to worry about it anyway, we didn’t become good friends until his fiance dumped him and he was looking for people to hang out with. I would set him up with someone I know… but all my girlfriends are kinda geeky like me:)

0 Responses to “not boyfriend, boy friend”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I’m Reading


