15
Mar
07

the over achiever

The over achiever and I met for the first time earlier this week. We had talked on the phone several times and had several IM conversations, and the conversation in person was just as easy and fun as it had been all along. We talked about programming, the company I work for, our cats, our roommates, the Freemasons… we didn’t seem to run out of topics, and to his credit he let me talk all I wanted! I wasn’t bored at all. He is on the cute side of average, and there were a couple of moments where we smiled at each other and I felt a hint of a spark. I think. We both said at the end of the date that we would like to spend more time together.

The negatives: He was at least an inch shorter than his profile led me to believe, which makes us the same height. I am a tall woman so this doesn’t make him short, but I have to admit I have a weakness for the taller guys. I spend so much of my time feeling taller than other people (I’m only 5’9″-ish, but that puts me quite a bit above the average woman) that when a man makes me feel petite it gives him a huge advantage.

He also is extremely busy. All the time. We only had about an hour and a half for our date, which really didn’t seem long enough. He is in a Master’s program full time as well as working full time, which gives him about one free night a week. He also lives about 30 minutes away, which makes the time aspect even more difficult.

I also get a sense of casualness from him that is a little disconcerting. I would like to feel that a man is pursuing me and is really interested, not that he is casually contacting me whenever he gets bored and remembers I exist. I haven’t heard from since we went out, but since he has already established a pattern of inconsistency I’m not sure whether to think it’s because he’s busy, he isn’t interested, or he just forgot. I wouldn’t have minded a date for this weekend though.

A new guy sent me a yahoo icebreaker that is pretty cute, but his profile is a little vague. I sent him a flirty little note and asked for more info, so we’ll see! I’m certainly not going to wait for the over-achiever to remember I exist.

1 Response to “the over achiever”


  1. June 28, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    Hi, after reading this amazing post i am as well delighted to share my familiarity here
    with colleagues.


Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I’m Reading


