23
Feb
07

Next, please

Myspace boy and I finally met on Wednesday night at the local big chain bookstore. Let me just say, it’s not going to work. He however seems smitten, I’ve gotten a mySpace message and 3 text messages on my cell phone from him since then. I specifically requested that he use my real e-mail address and he didn’t, and I also have not received an actual phone call. I have to let him down but I haven’t quite decided on the best method.

This was a classic case of good IM’er = bad conversationalist. With IM you are generally forced to pause and allow the other person a chance to respond… this guy did not shut up. I am a reasonably good conversationalist even if you take into account my usual initial shyness, but I’m pretty sure I got in one word for his ten. Or twenty. During the course of the evening he described himself variously as a ‘beta male,’ a ‘fashionisto,’ and ‘in touch with his feminine side.’ None of these things are bad necessarily, but I don’t know if I understand the logic of trying to impress a girl with them.

He also flattered me continuously. Looks, intelligence, clothing choice, you name it. Normally one would think this was a good thing, but he never gave me a chance to demonstrate any of my personality… and when I tried to make playful jokes (teasing him or whatever) he would get all apologetic.

MB: (on the phone before we met) Can we meet a little earlier? I got finished sooner than I thought I would, and I knew you weren’t doing anything…

SGG: (archly) and just how do you know that?

MB: Oh, I’m sorry, I really didn’t mean to imply anything, I’m sorry for assuming, etc. etc. for like five minutes.

SGG: I’m just kidding, really, it’s ok. I was just watching American Idol.

MB: Oh, I knew that

SGG: ?

So, he really didn’t know me at all, didn’t understand my personality, but yet he continued to flatter me throughout the night. I like a compliment as much as the next girl, but I’m not silly enough to have my head turned by empty flattery, in fact feel rather insulted by it.

Also? I was hoping he would look better than his picture… but not so much. To be perfectly honest I really wasn’t attracted to him at all.

So, to recap: no physical chemistry, no mental rapport, and I’m not at all impressed by his job. Sigh.

Next?

1 Response to “Next, please”


  1. March 13, 2007 at 4:33 pm

    Hi there,
    I really liked reading your myspace dating story. I met my hubby on an online dating site in 2003, so I have a fondness for such stories. I’m also a grad student doing a masters project about dating on myspace. I wondered if I can ask you a few questions about your experiences. Are you interested? I would love to hear more about it.


Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I’m Reading


