07
Feb
07

prospect update

Everyone on yahoo is boring. The one guy I have been corresponding with the most appears to have no sense of humor, and spends his free time golfing. I’m sure it makes him happy, but I have no interest at all in the sport – if you can call it that. I do have friends who enjoy it… but seriously.

Imagine you are a guy (if you are a guy already, then this will be easier), and you find a cute girl on a dating website, you think you might be a good fit, and the only way you have to convince her to talk to you or go out with you is to send her a really good e-mail. What might you do? How will you entice this vision of loveliness? Personally, I would think you would want to try and capture her interest in some fashion – ask her about her life, comment on the aspects of her profile that drew you to her, maybe even tell an interesting story.

Wait! I have it! The perfect thing! I don’t know why all men don’t know this, they could have the smart, funny, interesting women of the world in the palms of their hands. What is this wonderful secret? The one thing guaranteed to make any woman swoon? That’s right! They should be talking about golf. Or, barring that, football. People, I think I’ve found my kryptonite.


Yeah. So if Yahoo doesn’t get really interesting really fast I’m canceling my subscription.

In other news, myspace boy and I have exchanged yahoo id’s, and had a long IM conversation last night. It was a little spotty since everyone in the world suddenly wanted to call my cellphone at the same time and I kept having to leave the computer, but it was pretty nice. He is funny, smart, all that good stuff. I have no idea if we share religious views, I’m just so-so on his pictures, and I wonder why he feels the need to compliment me quite so much (‘You have a warm smile’, ‘I love smart women’, etc.). He kinda sorta offhandedly asked me to have coffee, but I just don’t know yet. I’m still feeling him out I guess. He seems to be one of those artistic types (writer) who haven’t really found their calling yet, and since I’m a completely practical and down to earth person who picked their career in good part because of the money making potential and will only switch if something better comes along, I fear a basic incompatibility. I also fear my propensity to over analyze every freaking thing instead of waiting to see what happens. He does have a real job, it’s just not a career, and he’s going back to school, I’m not sure what he hopes to do with his degree, or if he even knows. We tend to talk about random things and skip over the biographical details.

Please tell me I’m not the only one who does this thinking too much thing. If I had a dollar for ever time I’ve been told to chill out…

0 Responses to “prospect update”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I’m Reading


