05
Feb
07

A few tips for men who would like to date online

I’ve only been involved in online dating a short while, but I have some tips for guys that would certainly make the experience a little more pleasant for me.

  1. I don’t care if you are built like a model, I don’t want to see pictures of you with your shirt off. It’s not sexy. It just serves to prove that: a. you think you are so hot that women will throw themselves at your sexy, sexy body, b. you spend way too much time thinking about your appearance, or c. both. I’m sorry, but I’m looking for a man with a brain in his head, and who will use that brain to realize that most women want nice, fun guys who can hold their own in a conversation, not a stud who thinks about nothing but reps and power shakes.
  2. Please do post a picture. And if you don’t, say why. Good reason: you are a teacher and don’t want your students to find you. Bad: you have a few extra pounds on your frame. If things go well we are going to find out what you look like eventually anyway, but not posting a picture reduces the chances of that ever happening by quite a lot.
  3. Do not put your physical characteristics in your description. Every fracking dating site puts that information in a separate part of the page, automatically. Describing yourself should be about your job, your personality, and your interests, not restating the information I can easily glean by glancing one inch to the right.
  4. If you have space for 5 pictures, and 3 of them are of you drinking a beer… I might assume that you are an alchoholic. Just saying.
  5. Everybody likes to go out sometimes and stay in sometimes. Most even like movies, and a good percentage like to spend time in the great outdoors. What makes you different? If you don’t tell me, I’m going to think… nothing. And move right on.
  6. Women are humans! Humans have drama in their lives! It’s part of our condition on this planet. If you don’t want drama, stay home and play pong, but don’t go looking for a date. As a living, breathing, fabulous REAL female, I reserve the right to be dramatic.

Those are off the top of my head. I’m sure there will be more. Men, please pay attention, and your dating experience will be much improved.

0 Responses to “A few tips for men who would like to date online”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

What I’m Reading


