05
Nov
07

the crusher defense

It has been once again brought to my attention that I am some sort of traitorous Trekkie for admitting that I had a crush on one Wesley Crusher when I was a kid. (Hehe, a crush on crusher.)(I’m such a nerd.) I had a friend in college who teased me endlessly about this (partially because he was truly horrified and partially because he never knew where the line between funny and just plain irritating was), and I never was able to fully explain it. It’s not like I still feel that way – the old I get the better Picard looks ;). I am taking this opportunity to defend myself once and for all, let the mockers do their worst.

wesley crusher

  1. First of all, I would like to point out that ST:TNG started airing in 1987 when I was all of 5 years old. I didn’t actually start watching it until later, when I was 10 or 11 and re-runs would play every day. I have never seen the series in order and I’m not 100% I’ve seen all of the episodes… hmm, that may be my next Netflix project now that I’m about caught up on Dexter (verdict: awesome!) and How I Met Your Mother (verdict: cute). This is the age when I would set the VCR to record episodes because they were either on at 11am when I was at school or 11pm when I was in bed. Kids, these were the dark days before Bittorent and DVR, when we had to use the things called tapes that were the size of a book and had a tendency to get eaten by the machine called a VCR. I also had a younger brother who had an unfortunate tendency to push things that were not tapes into the tape slot, a large slice of cheddar and a matchbox car being two of the most memorable victims.
  2. So, as number 1 indicates, I was very young when I fell in love with this show, and as anyone would I needed a character to empathize with and who would be my gateway into the story. I think it was perfectly natural that that person would be Wesley since he was the only one present who was even remotely close to my age. I know all the reasons people had for hating him, and now that I’m older I am annoyed by a lot of the same things, but at the time I had a weakness for stories involving kids doing things that adults didn’t expect them to have the capability to handle. This theme carried over to my literature choices, and books like Island of the Blue Dolphins and My Side of the Mountain were read and re-read endlessly. It made sense for the adults on the show to have the capabilities they did, but Wesley was as special as I wanted to imagine myself to be, and I loved him for it.
  3. This reason is probably the most true: I have always been attracted to intelligence, even when other qualities are lacking. Case in point would be my ex-fiance. He was is an extremely talented and intelligent individual, but his emotional IQ was sorely lacking. (I don’t say is lacking because I haven’t spoken to him in over a year so who knows what strides he might have made meanwhile?) So I loved Wesley for the same reason I love Spock, Henry, McKay, Baltar, etc. They may be selfish, rude, annoying, or completely unemotional, but the brains just get me every time.

So, is it so wrong for me to admit to liking Wesley? I don’t think so. Mock me if you must, but I will stand strong.

————————
For your amusement: Galacticast’s Starfleet Academy video.

12 Responses to “the crusher defense”


  1. 1 hopnorth
    November 7, 2007 at 8:33 am

    Mmm…Wesley Crusher. I discovered Star Trek: tng (in reruns) about age 15 and I admit that I had a crush on him too. Maybe it was the intellegiance thing … next would have Data to crush on so the intellegience thing fits. Fast forward 11 yrs later, and Riker (with the beard) is looking better and better.

    So the kid did things that the adults couldn’t, big deal. I always think of Geordi’s advice to Wesley that you can fall in love with different people and keep part of that love always. (At least that’s how I remember that conversation…haven’t seen that episode in years.) Growing up myself, still single now and hearing that dialog is something meaningful to me. Wesley was growing up as I am growing up too.

  2. November 7, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    Geordi was always so wise – except for that time he fell in love with a hologram. I really like that advice.

    One thing I find amusing is that I am only ever made fun of for liking Wesley by guys, and girls always seem to get it… I wonder why that could be? Perhaps they are intimidated by greater intelligence? I would think that women liking a more geeky and less beefy type character would be a good thing for them.

  3. November 7, 2007 at 9:58 pm

    Don’t worry, I had a crush on Wesley as well ;)

  4. 4 GrantTLC
    November 8, 2007 at 1:31 am

    You know, I’ve never been more grateful to be a heterosexual male than I am now, after reading these comments. No, not even after I learned where babies actually come from, lol.

    You’d think that geeky men like us would recognise Mr Crusher as a kindred spirit, and value women who find him attractive because at least they are looking in the right direction, for the correct qualities….

    …but Wes Crusher is a prat, plain and simple. It’s like a Transformers Fan (card carrying member since 1984) admitting to LIKING Wheelie from TF: the movie. Yes, he’s a member of the race we all adore, and does all the things TF’s do, but JESUS GOD get him off the screen and never speak of him again! ;)

  5. November 9, 2007 at 10:48 am

    Yes he was a spoiled whiny kid which I can see quite clearly now, and his ascent to traveler-hood made no sense whatsoever, but to my pre-pubescent self he was pretty awesome, so there :p

  6. 6 rhona
    November 14, 2007 at 7:09 am

    Well, I’m a girl and I don’t really get it. I think i was too old , Riker was my main man. I think Grant’s just jealous :)

  7. 7 bethany
    April 1, 2008 at 7:46 am

    I would like to say that I’ve been watching tng my entire life, new episodes in the early 90’s when I was a tot and the DVDs and reruns now that I’m a teen on account of my dad. I’ve always loved Data and Jeordie and wes. Personally, I don’t understand why he’s so hated. I haven’t really talked to anyone that loves ST besides my dad, so I guess that’s understandable. I still love Wesley Crusher more than most of the characters. At least, I enjoy looking at him more and root for him more than I do others.

    Late comment on an old post, but I just found this. :]

  8. 8 Crystal
    June 9, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    Sorry this is a really late comment, but I just started watching Star Trek and, being the teenager that I am, am IN LOVE with the Crusher boy!! Of course I’m not in love with Wil Wheaton because he’s much older now, but I can still enjoy Wesley, on account that the character himself tecnically isn’t getting any older. He’s smart, nice, AND hott! That doesn’t happen very often, and if it does, they’re usually gay!
    I love Data too, he’s SOOOO cute!!!! But Wes is still my number one favorite :D

  9. 9 Geeker
    July 23, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    I just found this page doing a google image search and I completely agree haha
    Do you know if this image is copyrighted?

  10. August 18, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    “Geordi was always so wise – except for that time he fell in love with a hologram.” is the funniest thing I read today and I laughed so loud that I got stares from the rest of the office!

    I had a crush on Wes too… but being 5-6, I just wanted to be him and be on the Enterprise!

    Thanks for the LULZ! :-)

  11. 11 i love krycek
    February 6, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    yeah well i had a crush on wealey too. and data. but now i have a huge crush on alex krycek. and i never had a celebrity crush in between. go figure.

  12. 12 hmmm
    February 8, 2010 at 3:42 am

    Those luscious lips gorgeous big eyes and that ass….yeah the ass, in that little tight gray uniform….I mean wow. And we’re supposed to not notice. They actually did a nice ass shot in the episode where where the nanites take over, I think it was ‘evolution’ or something. The camera just pans over his nice buns. Jesus I haven’t seen that show in years.


Leave a Reply

RSS Stuff from my RSS feeds

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

What I’m Reading


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

